OEwaves, Inc., headquartered in Pasadena, California, is a leader in innovative microwave-photonic products and solutions. OEwaves develops state-of-the-art technologies and provides products in support of communication, sensor, RADAR/LIDAR, stable clocking, and test and measurement systems for commercial and military markets. 

OEwaves was founded in 2000 and has maintained an Intellectual Property Portfolio of over 124 cases and has received numerous awards, including two prestigious SPIE Prism Awards, as well as the Patrick Soon-Shiong Innovation Award.  The company has been ranked in the top 20 of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Semiconductor Manufacturing Patent Power.



SPIE Prism Award

  2013 WINNER for the Micro-Opto Electronic Oscillator in the Defense and Security Category
2012 WINNER for the Ultra-Narrow Linewidth Laser in the Other Light Sources Category
2010 FINALIST for the Phase Noise Test Measurement System in the Test and Measurement Category


2013 IEEE C.B. Sawyer Award


2013 Patrick Soon-Shiong Innovation Award


Skip Williams, President & CEO

 As an R&D leader with several first-ever discoveries and technology transitions, Dr. Skip Williams is adept at mastering new technical areas, understanding customer needs and creating novel solutions. Prior to joining OEwaves, he led a range of programs for the Department of Defense at the Air Force Research Laboratory and SPAWAR Systems Center Pacific. Dr. Williams brings over 12 years of senior leader experience and has successfully executed over $400M in programs in the following areas: electro-optics, RF devices, laser applications, sensors, signal processing, imaging, space instrumentation, plasmas, and hypersonics. In these positions, he used his general management, technical, and innovation skills to improve business performance across a diverse range of defense research and technology development activities, with a focus on innovation and disciplined execution.

Dr. Williams is a graduate of Stanford University and received is Ph.D. degree with a specialization in nonlinear optics. He earned his MBA and Lean Six Sigma Green Belt Verification at the Haslam College of Business at the University of Tennessee. He has published over 150 papers and patents, received the Air Force Science & Engineering Award for Engineering Achievement and is an Associate Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and astronautics (AIAA). 

Debra Coler, Executive Vice President & COO

Debra Coler joined OEwaves in 2002 from the Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL). While at JPL, Mrs. Coler served as a member of the Business Management Team for the Tracking Systems and Applications section 335. As such, she was assigned to the Quantum Sciences and Technology Group, handling the contract administration. From 1988 to 1999, she served as the Business Manager and Controller for a municipality in Idaho. Prior to 1988, Mrs. Coler was an accountant for Hewlett Packard. Mrs. Coler has a BS degree in Business Management and Accounting, and is accredited in Government Contracting and Export Control. She is also a member of the Administrative Committee (ADCOM) for the IEEE Society, Ultrasonics, Ferroelectrics, and Frequency Control.  

Andrey B. Matsko, CTO

 Dr. Andrey Matsko joined OEwaves in 2007 from Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) and is responsible for supporting and managing OEwaves multi-million dollar R&D Government Contracts awards. Dr. Matsko brings to the company his extensive expertise in electro-optical modulator, RF photonic receiver, optical and RF filter, delay line, clock, magnetometer, gyroscope, oscillator and laser technologies based on crystalline whispering gallery mode resonators. He holds more than 40 US Patents in these areas and as a result received multiple awards, most notably from Jet Propulsion Laboratory the 2005 JPLs Lew Allen Award for Excellence "For seminal and unique theoretical contributions in quantum optics, in particular, the nonlinear interactions of optical crystalline whispering gallery mode resonators, leading to the establishment of this new area of research at JPL". Dr. Matsko is also the recipient of the 2007 NASA Space Act Award in recognition of contributions to the National Space Program and the mission of the Jet Propulsion Laboratory. Dr. Matsko is a Fellow of OSA as well as Senior Member of IEEE and SPIE.  

Anatoliy Savchenkov, Chief Scientist

 Dr. Anatoliy Savchenkov joined OEwaves in 2007 from Jet Propulsion (JPL), Caltech, bringing to OEwaves over 20 years of unique hands-on experience in research and development in whispering gallery mode (WGM) resonators and other fields of optics and photonics. His current efforts have focused on the research and development of novel systems including optical and RF photonic filters, modulators, oscillators, lasers, and sensors. Dr. Savchenkov scientific research in material physics and nonlinear optics resulted in more than 100 peer-reviewed scientific articles and 50 US Patents.   

Board of Directors

Robert Verratti

 Operating Partner, TL Ventures & Chairman of the Board

David W. Berkus

 President, Berkus Technology Ventures 

Alex Maleki

 Vice President Business Development, Idealabs

Julie M. Schoenfeld

 Vice President Autonomous Vehicle Programs, General Motors Cruise

Skip Williams

 President and CEO, OEwaves, Inc. 

Our Investors and Partners


ISO 9001:2015 and AS9100D Certified